Wait Til i Get My Money Right: Six Ways to Get it Together

Sister Omiladé had an ill response to my Paper Chase post.  It was so ill, in fact, that i had to re-post it in its own right.  So without any further ado, ladies and gentlemen, put your hands together for the financial wisdom of Sister Omiladé

Okay, I’m by no means a financial adviser, but these are a few things that have helped me:

  • Shift Perception: I used to often think “I can’t afford this or I won’t have that”. Our thoughts simply attract more of the same. I created a reality of lack and worse, I lived in fear of the lack I was creating. A shift in perception was necessary not only to improve my relationship with money, but to preserve my peace of mind.
  • Fill the Hole: pay what you owe, whether it’s to a company or a person, if the debt is validly yours, pay it.  Once I did this, I took responsibility for past decisions, improved my credit score, eliminated the looming void of owing others and the best part is I felt personally empowered.
  • Create Reciprocity: To get, you must give. I started to give in small amounts and noticed once I released the fear of not having enough, a flow began. If currently unable to give money, give time and energy…just give something and witness reciprocity at work. (Check out sites like Kiva.com or Kickstarter.com)
  • Prudent Prosperity: Things do happen and we should prepare for the unforeseen by setting aside an emergency fund. Ideally, it’s good to have at least six months of living expenses on reserve. I started with one month and moved up in manageable increments. The times I wasn’t saving were the very times things “came up” and the money was gone before I could even count and fold it.
  • Work With What You Got: I’ve recently considered making the switch from card to cash. It will force better spending decisions and help avoid the blind swipe of the card (I’m a swipe pro). Also, I only use credit cards for revolving credit and make sure to only charge what I can pay in full and on time.
  • Bet on Black: We’ve heard the phrase “pay yourself first” and it’s a great motto. I pay myself before doing anything else. I not only steadily increase my savings, but affirm that my time, efforts, and hard work are valuable and worth investing back into myself.
This entry was posted in The Walk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

